Author Archives: James Bottomley

Linux Plumbers Conference CFP announced

The Linux Plumbers Conference is proud to announce that it’s website for 2024 is up and the CFP has been issued.  We will be running a hybrid conference as usual, but the in-person venue will be Vienna, Austria from 18-20 September. Deadlines to submit are 4 April for Microconferences and 16 June for Refereed and […]

Linux Plumbers Conference in Austria Next year

The current plan is to be co-located in Vienna with OSS-EU.  We don’t have exact dates to give (still finding conference space) but it will be three days on the week of 16 September.

Live Stream URLs for Plumbers are now on the Website

As a reminder, The live stream of each main track of Linux Plumbers Conference will be available in real time on Youtube.  The Links are now live in the timetable.  To view, go to the Schedule Overview and click on the paperclip on the upper right of the track you want to watch to bring […]

Playback of BBB Virtual Training session available

The URL for the training session we did on Thursday morning is: https://bbb2.lpc.events/playback/presentation/2.3/62e3456da3c0598910e28d204ee24b669d714c04-1699539923588?t=37m55s Note that the URL skips to time index 37:55 which is where the training actually begins (the hackroom got started early).

BBB Training Session for Virtual Presenters and Attendees

We’ll be holding a BBB Training session on Thursday (8 November) at: 7am PST, 10am EST, 3pm UTC, 4pm CET, 8:30pm IST, 12am Friday JST This will be recorded so that you can watch it later. What is BBB? It’s an open source video software, similar to Zoom and Google Meets, but is much better […]

Linux Plumbers Conference General Registration Reopened

Now that the MC selection process is finished, we’ve recovered enough passes to reopen general registration. If you still wish to register, please go to our Attend page. Hopefully we recovered enough passes to keep registration open for a couple of weeks, if not longer, but please don’t wait …

Preliminary Dates and Location for LPC2023

The 2023 LPC PC is pleased to announce that we’ve begun exclusive negotiations with the Omni Hotel in Richmond, VA to host Plumbers 2023 from 13-15 November. Note: These dates are not yet final (nor is the location; we have had one failure at this stage of negotiations from all the Plumbers venues we’ve chosen). […]

Linux Plumbers Conference Free Live Streams Available

As with previous years, we have a free live stream available.  You can find the details here: https://lpc.events/event/16/page/173-watch-live-free

LPC 2022 Open for Last-Minute On-Site Registrations

Against all expectations, we have now worked through the entire waitlist, courtesy of some last-minute cancellations due to late-breaking corporate travel restrictions. We are therefore re-opening general registration. So if you can somehow arrange to be in Dublin on September 12-14 at this late date, please register. Virtual registration never has closed, and is still […]

Registration Currently Sold Out, We’re Trying to Add More Places

Back in 2021 when we were planning this conference, everyone warned us that we’d still be doing social distancing and that in-person conferences were likely not to be as popular as they had been, so we lowered our headcount to fit within a socially distanced venue.   Unfortunately the enthusiasm of the plumbers community didn’t follow […]